Home   ::   Rugby Links   ::   Rugby World Cup 2011   ::   Contact Us

Rugby World Cup 2011

Rugby World Cup Matches

The 2011 Rugby World Cup will be hosted in New Zealand with 40 pool matches taking place in a range of venues throughout the country, and the four quarter-finals hosted in Christchurch and Wellington.

The final, bronze final and both semi-finals will be played at a revamped Eden Park in Auckland where major improvements have upgraded seating, pedestrian and transport access to the iconic rugby venue.

Rugby World Cup Impact

Rugby World Cup will be the biggest ever international event held in New Zealand. Some 60,000 - 85,000 visitors are expected in New Zealand in September and October 2011, and as many as 238 countries could tune in to watch the matches by live broadcast.

The economic benefit is likely to add millions of dollars to the local economy, with many international visitors choosing to take the long way round - using the Rugby World Cup as a reason to get to know the real New Zealand.

New Zealand All Blacks as Ambassadors

Some of New Zealand's greatest sportsmen have been enlisted to help run the tournament.

Former New Zealand international cricket player Martin Snedden heads the organisational team, and All Black greats John Kirwan, Jonah Lomu, Michael Jones, Sean Fitzpatrick, David Kirk and Andrew Mehrtens have been named as rugby ambassadors to help promote the event.

When New Zealand co-hosted the inaugural World Cup of Rugby in 1987 it won the trophy and earned international praise for the successful staging of the event. Organisers want the 2011 event to be even more memorable - "a really good party, New Zealand style".

Terms & Conditions   ::   Privacy Policy